Reviews

Take a look through the wonderful words that our fantastic customers have written about us. 01777 870 264.

Sep

2018

Date of Visit: September 2018

Unit: Motorhome: 5/5 stars by

Excellent location whether travelling north or south on A1. Nice stroll into town with supermarkets, butchers and local stores. Friendly pub.

Site clean, quiet and well laid out.

Friendly and helpful owners/staff.

Sep

2017

Date of Visit: September 2017

Unit: Campervan: 4/5 stars by

Nice site, nice two brothers who own it, nice two night stop,

Slight noise from road and trains but did nt bother us too much,

Toilets very clean and tidy, short walk to nearest pub and when we were there the food was excellent.

Aug

2017

Date of Visit: August 2017

Unit: Touring Caravan: 5/5 stars by

Back again, must be classed as a regular. 50 miles from home. Spotless as always. No key to the toilet block, now this is a great idea. Weather great. Maiden voyage with our new caravan. It was good to see the pair off you still working hard as always to keep a excellent park, credit to you both many thanks.

Aug

2017

Date of Visit: August 2017

Unit: Campervan: 5/5 stars by

A friendly welcome to a superb site with excellent facilities, close to a pub. The shower block was very clean, plenty of water points and disposal points. A quiet site ideal for an overnight stop or longer stay if needed.

Apr

2017

Date of Visit: April 2017

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

We had a two night stay at this site. The two gents that run the site were very helpful and friendly. Toilets kept clean and tidy, pub/shop 5 minutes walk away, public footpath straight across road from site handy for exercising dog. Plenty to explore in the area.

Nice clean tidy friendly site will visit again.

Jul

2016

Date of Visit: July 2016

Unit: Touring Caravan: 3/5 stars by

We booked this site for the weekend as our first trip out in our new (to us) caravan. Booking was easy. Check-in was quick and smooth and we were shown to our grass pitch, arriving Friday evening.

Unfortunately, we had similar issues to the previous reviewer. Key to the toilet block did not work every time regardless of the amount of ‘wiggling’. Good job we had taken our portaloo for the awning as it was needed on a couple of occasions having not been able to gain access to the toilet/shower block. Also like the previous reviewer, we found the number of notes all over the site saying what you could and couldn’t do to be quite off-putting and did not make us feel relaxed or at ease.

Once in the toilet/shower block, the facilities were clean and fine. You get a good length of shower for your 20p. Ample hot water for washing up.

During the waking hours the nearby train track was not an issue, however, a freight train did pass during the early hours which did disturb us.

There were strict instructions in the leaflet handed out at check-in and notes all over the site about what you can and can’t do. Just a shame the owners don’t practice what they preach! Permanent pitchers and owners had a party on the Saturday which started around lunchtime and went on all afternoon/evening. We went to the local pub at tea time (which is very nice by the way), for some ‘peace’. Despite the leaflets saying ‘absolute silence after 10pm or you will be spoken to’. The music did go off but the noise did not stop after 10pm. The couple parked next to us were also none too happy about the noise either as they tried to sit outside and enjoy the warm evening weather. We were so fed up, we packed up as soon as we woke and headed home.

I’m not opposed to people enjoying themselves but when it is to the detriment of other paying customers. Not on!

As above, the local pub is very friendly (and dog friendly) and the food was lovely. There is also a local shop within walking distance.

Jul

2016

Date of Visit: July 2016

Unit: Motorhome: 5/5 stars by

Had a lovely and relaxing weekend at Greenacres, run by two lovely brothers who kept us company in the local pub, the site is very well looked after, great showers at just twenty pence, given plenty of time to shower, the toilets are pristine, and are checked regular, Martin helped us to site our motorhome, which was on hard standing, all water and waste amenities, situated very near, a very quite site, just what we wanted, the local pub just two minutes walk away, the food look good, five minutes to the local shop, and just a bit further is the village, with another pub. , all bus stops near the site, we will definitely, be going back for another visit.

Jul

2016

Date of Visit: July 2016

Unit: Campervan: 3/5 stars by

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday. Check in was smooth. Campsite just off the main road from Tuxford. Also next to a rail line, frequent trains pass through but not too distracting.

Told that toilet block needed a key to access (£5 deposit) keys recently cut but not correctly so we were told to wiggle the key to unlock. Not ideal and I would suggest the owners pay to get the keys cut correctly! Whilst it is an adult only site there were lots of ‘rules’ pinned up everywhere. Didnt make for as a relaxing break as anticipated. We didn’t eat in pub. It’s not far from campsite. Corner shop about 10 mins walk into Tuxford.

Jun

2016

Date of Visit: June 2016

Unit: Motorhome: 4.5/5 stars by

First visit to this site and it was excellent. It was easy to find and well laid out. There is a mix of static and touring pitches available. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and provided lots of information when we booked in.

The site facilities were spotlessly clean, with loads of hot water available. Showers are 20p per time but you have loads of time provided for your 20p. The laundry facilities were also very good. This site was quiet and peaceful and ideal for couples/adults wanting a break from the hustle and bustle of normal life. We would definitely visit this site again.

May

2016

Date of Visit: May 2016

Unit: Touring Caravan: 5/5 stars by

Just returned from yet another visit to greenacres caravan park in Tuxford Notts, would just like to say if you are planning a visit to this area, this site is well worth a visit, we have been many times before, and we wouldn’t hesitate to return again, the site is adults only, only a small site, but beautifully kept by the owners Steve and Martin, whom on your arrival will help you on to your pitch, and are friendly and very helpful, the toilet and shower facility’s are spotless and are more than adequate for the size of the site, only 10 minutes walk into the village of Tuxford, not five minutes walk away, to the local pub, serving good food, what more could you ask ? !

May

2016

Date of Visit: May 2016

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4/5 stars by

We stayed at Greenacres on our way to Whitby as an overnight stop. The site is ideal for a ‘stopover’ if travelling long distances. The proprietors were very pleasant and helpful. The facilities are exceptionally clean and well cared for. Although some form of heating in the shower and toilet facilities would be nice. The local pub which is about a five minute walk does excellent bar meals. We were so pleased with the location of the site as a ‘stopover’ from travelling that we booked again on our return trip. Would definitely return.

May

2016

Date of Visit: May 2016

Unit: Motorhome: 5/5 stars by

Spotted a sign from the A1 on bank holiday, we were on our way back to Durham from Dover and we were so pleased we did. It is a gem of a site and although we only had time for one night, It was all you could ask for. There was a pub on the doorstep with excellent food, the site was immaculate, the gentleman running it very friendly Hope to return again on our next trip south

Aug

2015

Date of Visit: August 2015

Unit: Motorhome: 4/5 stars by

Excellent Site with good facilities, very clean – friendly/efficient staff who have good knowledge of local area. Good site for walkers as lots of Public footpaths directly from the site. Local pub next door, selling food. Village approx. 10 mins walk, with fish shop, Chinese, newsagents, co-op and chemist. Bus stops at site entrance. We would definitely return.

Jun

2015

Date of Visit: June 2015

Unit: Touring Caravan: 3/5 stars by

Well kept site, nice welcome from owners who took us to our spot. Lovely birdsong, sadly for us it was spoiled by road noise and passing trains but some people are not affected by such. Field opposite for dog walk. Good base for touring round area or a one night stop to break a journey. Toilets clean, a little dated. Able to pay extra for a late departure if required. We found it a little expensive due to noise element. Static vans on site and seasonal touring pitches, we found it a friendly site.

May

2015

Date of Visit: May 2015

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

This is a well run, efficient and clean site. We had no problem with a late check in on a friday evening, and found the site easily. The site is next to a railway line, which is not too bothersome, and we soon learned to ignore the sound of passing trains. The toilet blocks are not modern, but are pristine.

We had a pleasant stay in this quiet and friendly site.

Apr

2015

Date of Visit: April 2015

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

Just returned from a long weekend at Greenacres. The site was very, very clean and tidy. The lawns were lovingly cared for.

The owners were very friendly and welcoming and made our arrival very simple. It was a pleasure to meet them.

We had our dog with us. It was made clear that he should be exercised off the park, which was very easy as there was a lovely field just across from the park.

The shower blocks were spotless. However, they are in need of modernisation and could do with some heating as it was a little chilly. There was only one shower in the male and female along with a disabled access shower so if the site was busy it may have been a problem. It was not an issue for us as the site was quiet. 20p for a shower was also not a problem as there was plenty of hot water and the shower lasted for plenty of time. There is also a laundry room but we did not use it as we were only on a short break. There is also a freezing block service for a very small cost, which is very handy for picnics etc. The gated entrance gives a feeling of security.

There is a pub (The Fountain) just up the road (well within walking distance) but we didn’t use it as it is not dog friendly. Infact, compared to Derbyshire and North Yorkshire there was shortage of dog friendly pubs in the area. Tuxford village was a short walk away and Newark just a short drive.

This site would not suit rowdy groups but if you are looking for a quiet break from hum drum life this is the place for you. We will definitely be back there. In our opinion the rates are reasonable and we found it to be excellent value for money. All in all a lovely little camp site run by lovely people.

Sep

2014

Date of Visit: September 2014

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4/5 stars by

We stayed here for two nights on the way home from Northumberland. The site was very tidy lovely mower grass. The pitches are spacious. It was very quite schools gone back so that would account for that. The showers were adequate for our needs. We wanted to visit Lincoln for the day and the guys were very helpful. Lending us a map and telling us where the car parks were. We had a very enjoyable day in Lincoln. We did not need a shop or pub but the guy in the caravan next to us said pub food over the bridge was good.

Aug

2014

Date of Visit: August 2014

Unit: Touring Caravan: 3.5/5 stars by

The initial welcome was very pleasant and helpful. The site was immaculately clean, grass cut, no rubbish etc. Despite the site being next to a road and a railway, we were not disturbed at all by either of these. The shower block was very clean, liked the music but is very, very outdated. 20p for shower but more than enough lovely hot water. When we were there, there were not many other tourer vans and it appeared that not many of the statics were occupied so the fact that there were only two showers was not an issue, but imagine it may be if the site was fuller.

The pub next door, The Fountain, is excellent in every way; service, food, presentation and useful shops within walking distance with cash point.

Aug

2014

Date of Visit: August 2014

Unit: Static: 4/5 stars by

We stayed two weeks in a static caravan, which was especially prepared for us because it was the last one available. Everything clean and tidy. The place is very quiet, except for the trains that come by, but you get used to them soon. The owner was very helpful, drinking a pint of bitter with him in The Fountain nearby is great fun, and they serve food just better than in an average pub. Lincoln with its fantastic cathedral is just 30 minutes driving. The area is not that touristic, but for lovers of mediaeval churches there is a wealth of saxon, norman and perpendicular style churches to visit with fabulous carved heads and gargoyles. Take your Jenkins Englands thousand best churches with you and enjoy! Erik and Pieta, Houten, The Netherlands

Jul

2014

Date of Visit: July 2014

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

Me and husband just stayed for one night

Spotlessly clean and owners very helpful and friendly

If you are a group and a bit noisy then not the site for you

The pub down the road the fountain is very nice

All in all very nice and clean site

Tuxford is only 10 min walk along the road

Toilets lovely and clean

May

2014

Date of Visit: May 2014

Unit: Touring Caravan: 3.5/5 stars by

Just returned after spending a long weekend at Greenacres, site was very clean as was the toilet/shower block. Only 1 male – 1 female and disabled shower which 20p is needed, found this a bit petty considering nightly rate. Toilet block a bit out dated and really needs some form of heating as it a bit chilly. Staff where helpful and gave info on surrounding pub and eateries. Although they except dogs, they expect you at all times to exercise them of site, which is not a problem as there is a field just across the road that a farmer has gave permission for site users to use. Not many pubs etc around are dog friendly. Site is only half hour drive from clumber park & sherwood forest.

Apr

2014

Date of Visit: April 2014

Unit: Motorhome: 4.5/5 stars by

We used this site over Easter. Owners welcoming and helpful. Lovely clean toilets if a little dated, clean and tidy site, next to a main road and train track but didn’t notice it. Walked to East Markham along the path next to the 125mph trains. Visited Queens hotel great meal & excellent ales. Big garden for the dogs.

Aug

2013

Date of Visit: August 2013

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

We used this site for 10 nights as a base to visit the area and meet friends. The owners were very helpful and could not do enough to make sure we were happy. The toilet block was clean and having music playing in the background is a nice touch with a variety of music for all tastes. The showers are still 20p and gives plenty of time to do what you need to. Having a road on one side and the trains on the other would have been a recipe for disaster, but funnily enough it does not interfere and you do get a good night sleep, even when it was hot and the windows had to be open!

The two supermarkets nearby are well stocked and within walking distance, there are also 2 take-aways close by (chinese and fish & chips) and we used them both and were very happy with the quality of the food. We did not use the pub next door preferring to travel to the next village at East Markham to the Queens hotel where the food and staff were excellent ( we ate here on 3 occasions ).

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if ever in the vicinity again would not think twice about staying again. Thank you.

Jul

2013

Date of Visit: July 2013

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

Used this campsite for an overnight stop only. A lovely site and well looked after. The staff were friendly and helpful and very welcoming. The site is quiet and peaceful except for the nearby train line. However this didn’t disturb us unduly. Facilities were clean and tidy and as many of the people on the site were on seasonal pitches with some of their own facilities demand was low. As it was only a 1 night stay we only tried the local pub(3 minutes walk away) but found it very satisfactory with a good menu if slightly more costly than basic pub grub. I would use this site again.

May

2013

Date of Visit: May 2013

Unit: Touring Caravan: 5/5 stars by

We chose this site as we only had a couple of days free which we wanted to spend in the van so needed to be near to home. We were very pleased we did, the staff made us very welcome even siting our van for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The site was very clean as were the toilets and showers (showers cost. 20p ) but everything else was included. The hook up point was also near to the van. There is also a £1 per night charge for the dog. It is a small site about 15 caravans it also has static vans, but they are so well arranged were not noticeable.

There are adequate water points and waste water areas.

The site also uses a gate control entry so you do feel secure. Although there is a railway line near by I have to state it did not bother us at all. There is plenty to do, , Sherwood Forest a short drive away, a pub within walking

Distance which serves good food (better to book)and a great Sunday market at Thorasby Hall.

We will certainly be visiting this site again, perfect.

May

2013

Date of Visit: May 2013

Unit: Campervan: 4.5/5 stars by

We stayed over bank holiday and had a great weekend. The site was very well kept and had good clean facilities the shower and toilets were very clean and had music playing in the background this made a nice change first thing in the morning. The owners were very friendly and helpful they told us about the area and places to eat and drink we went to lincoln which was not far away but be aware there is a toll road. The best thing about this site is that it’s ADULT ONLY so we left the children at home for the first time. Thank you greenacres

May

2013

Date of Visit: May 2013

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

My wife and I found the site to be clean and tidy. The facilities were also clean, tidy and well maintained. The owners are friendly and helpful. Prices were reasonable and it is a site I would recommend for a peaceful break although there is the main east coast rail line nearby it did not bother us. The nearby road has regular traffic but once again nothing to bother us or keep us awake at night. The site provided info on local and nearby facilities. There are some good restaurants nearby and a couple of very good pubs with real ale. The usual take-aways are within walking distance ie, fish and chips, Chinese and Indian. Two small supermarkets are within walking distance. Lincoln, Worksop, Newark, Mansfield and Nottingham are all within easy travelling distance.

Mar

2013

Date of Visit: March 2013

Unit: Motorhome: 4/5 stars by

We stopped in at this site on spec on the way home from Norfolk for an overnight stay.

When we asked at the office it transpired that the site was not officially open until the following Friday. However, the owners made us welcome and provided us with hook up and made the shower/toilet facilities available at short notice.

The site is smallish with a mixture of statics, seasonal tourers, touring and camping pitches. Some hardstanding and some grass pitches, although when we were there the grass was too soft for our motorhome.

As noted above the shower and toilet facilities were not fully open when we were there but what was available was clean and well maintained. There is an additional charge of 20p for the showers, otherwise everything is included. My only minor issue with the toilet was that there was no hand drier (although I don’t know if this is the case for all of the toilets).

The site seemed to be well maintained with plenty of hook up points, as well as at least a couple of drinking water/ waste water points and elsan point.

We did not have time to explore the local area but the site is only about 1/4 of a mile out from the village of Tuxford, we noticed as we departed to the North a working windmill which houses a tea room.

The site is close to a road and railway line but we did not find it noisy enough to disturb our sleep.

Overall a pleasant site with friendly owners which we would like to return to for a longer stay.

Jul

2011

Date of Visit: July 2011

Unit: Trailer Tent: 4.5/5 stars by

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. It is a well maintained site, small, practically level touring area with seasonal and static caravans. A quiet site catering for adults only. The owners were friendly and helpful.

Toilet and washing up block was very clean and tidy, the ‘Radio Greenacres’ was a nice touch, needed 20p for the shower, but had plenty of time to wash hair etc. Only £17/night with EUH (EHU not available for tents).

Surrounding area is in the sherwood forest, plenty of towns/villages nearby to shop / cycle / walk. Great outdoor sunday market at nearby Thoresby Hall on road to Mansfield.

Will visit again.

Jun

2011

Date of Visit: June 2011

Unit: Motorhome: 4/5 stars by

Spent a couple of nights here on the start of our holiday. Friendly staff and very helpful. A bus stop out side the site to Newark and Redford etc.

The village had all the shops you require, but when we walked into it found only one pub open and they had no beer, just bottles and draught lager

About 5 minutes walk to a small shop that did papers, bread, milk all you needed actually.

Site flat with EHU and other facilities close by.

Nice clean toilet block did not use showers. There was another pub that did food 2 minutes away but was closed due to be auctioned the day we were there so may be open in the future.

Apr

2010

Date of Visit: April 2010

Unit: Touring Caravan: 4.5/5 stars by

Just returned from this site had a great bank holiday week end. The staff are very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble for them. The park is very well kept, flat, plenty of room between caravans.

The toilets and shower block were always kept spotlessly clean, there’s even piped music playing in the background from dawn till dusk. The shower was 20p but with ample time with 1 20p coin. Site well lit at night

The slight noise from the railway isn’t as bad as expected. At £16 per night including electric I thought it good value.

Tuxford has a few shops newsagent / post office, chip shop, indian and chinese take aways also 1 pub and 1 club (ciu) all within 15/20 minute walk from the site. There is also another pub 5 minutes walk from the site (fountain hotel). 11 mile from Lincoln, Sherwood forest near by.

Will definitely be going back again this was our 6th visit to this site in 4 years

Aug

2009

Date of Visit: August 2009

Unit: Touring Caravan: 2.5/5 stars by

ust returned from 3 nights at this site. Site is very well kept, quiet and staff very helpful. Adults only preferred tourers, tents and statics. Important thing to note is that it is between a busy road and a railway track – whilst some people can become immune to it others may find it irritating. Have rated lower on value for money as we would have expected the rates to be lower because of the location – otherwise rating would have been higher. Toilet facilities clean, 20p for the showers, toilet roll often ran out as they didn’t seem to put a full one on! Reasonable location in Tuxford – small town with a couple of small stores, Chinese was good and there is a fish and chips shop but we didn’t get to sample that! Handy for Sherwood Forest etc.

Apr

2008

Date of Visit: April 2008

Unit: Motorhome: 4/5 stars by

This site is immaculate – but has a very long list of do’s and don’ts to keep it like this! The list of rules covers everything from noise, clothes lines (not allowed), visitors to dogs

I don’t think this is a site for people with children – the rule book says: ‘Ball games and kites are strictly prohibited. They generally cause nuisance and damage’ there is no playground and nothing at all for children to do on the site

The owners were pleasant and guided you into a spot. Cars are parked at the gate and not allowed on site except for towing on and off. Caravans were close together I felt. Toilets and showers (20 p) were quite good and clean. Not cheap at £22 a night including electric hookup.

Apr

2007

Date of Visit: April 2007

Unit: Touring Caravan: 5/5 stars by

A very friendly welcome, and a helping hand to our pitch. A small site and the caravans feel very close together, but the facilities are good and all within easy reach.

Any queries are answered quickly and the staff are very keen to help.
The road and railway can be noisy, although the trains aren’t as intrusive as I first thought.

An excellent base for the Sherwood Forest area, and I’d go again.

Jun

2003

Date of Visit: June 2003

Unit: Caravan: 4/5 stars by

Site was very well kept. Toilet & shower blocks were clean & tidy. Only drawback was that it is next to a railway line & a road and it can be quite noisy at times.